Hosted by Kris Bather and Mladen Luketin from Western Australia, ES is a weekly podcast filled with news, reviews and pop culture shenanigans. Kris (loyal superhero fan) and Mladen (manga, anime and indie defender) chat about their varying, and occasional overlapping, interests in the wonderful world of sequential art.

Diamond: In The Rough?

July PreviewsI went to one of my comic shops yesterday and was aghast to discover that 5 books I ordered in February were now cancelled. Thanks Diamond! Actually, I wasn’t aghast exactly, as I never remember what I order two months after the fact (I like the surprise each week). It must be terribly frustrating for self-publishers now that the world’s biggest distributor of comics demands a minimum order before they carry it. I kind of get where Diamond are coming from, in a business sense, but it’s no fun for retailers, publishers or consumers. The Previews catalogue is only going to get smaller and that’s so depressing. I order way too many unheard of books each month from Previews, and look forward to new discoveries from unique talents and brave creators. Now it’s going to be very difficult to find them. I’m glad I’ve managed to do my tiny bit for great books like Harker and Kid Beowulf with Extra Sequential, but it’s not enough. New distributors without such restrictions will continue to gain new ground and the digital distribution model will attract more creators though. One company can’t kill the magical diversity in comics, and if anyone risks their talents, time and finances on actually creating a comic, they’ll be determined enough to find an outlet for it, I’m sure. I recommend keeping your eyes open every time you visit the LCS and check out what indie books are gaining new fans on-line. There’s a world beyond the familiar out there, and they need our support.

Retailers and publishers may find this interview with the minds behind Haven Distribution hopeful reading.

Leave a Reply

