Hosted by Kris Bather and Mladen Luketin from Western Australia, ES is a weekly podcast filled with news, reviews and pop culture shenanigans. Kris (loyal superhero fan) and Mladen (manga, anime and indie defender) chat about their varying, and occasional overlapping, interests in the wonderful world of sequential art.

ExSeq Ep.39-Free Comic Book Day

67 mins. In honour of the awesome annual tradition of Free Comic Book Day around the world, we discuss some of our faves – what you should definitely pick up and what you should avoid. Also, our usual rambling shenanigans.

LISTEN TO IT BELOW, DOWNLOAD IT HERE OR ON ITUNES

0: 32 NEWS

Green Lantern Animated Light Up Display is a fire hazard

More details about the Star Wars Blu-Ray

The new Conan trailer

Cobra: The Space Pirate film

8: 58 WHAT WE’VE BEEN READING/WATCHING

Low budget, but great film Monsters by Gareth Edwards

Red starring Bruce Willis, Helen Mirren, etc

The Punisher from 1989 starring Dolph Lundgren and a Ms. Pac Man mention

The Mighty Thor #1

Marvel Ultimate Alliance 2 video game

Alastair Graham’s Full Moon Soup picture book

Koren Shadmi’s The Abaddon webcomic

23: 08 FEATURE TOPIC – FREE COMIC BOOK DAY

FCBD is on Saturday May 8. Yay! We read a whole bunch of the many free comics on offer this year and give a rundown of what we like and don’t like this year.

SOME PRETTY GOOD FREEBIES

Bongo Comics’ Bongo Free-For-All, featuring a few The Simpsons stories, including cool ones by Evan Dorkin and Sergio Aragones

Dark Horse’s Avatar: The Last Airbender/ Star Wars: The Clone Wars flip book

Ape Entertainment’s Richie Rich/ Kung-Fu Panda flip book. This ain’t your daddy’s Richie Rich!

Drawn and Quarterly’s classic reprint collection, John Stanley’s Summer Fun

12 Gauge’s I.C.E/ Loose Ends crime tales

FREEBIES TO AVOID

Bluewater’s The Misadventures of Adam West (the actor who played Batman in the ‘60s TV series)

FREEBIES THAT ARE OK, BUT NOT AWESOME

2000AD. The classic U.K magazine style format with a bunch of sci-fi stories inside, including a great Judge Dredd tale

Marvel’s The Amazing Spider-Man is good for fans who may have been away from the web slinger for a while and want to know what he’s up to these days

DC Comics’ Green Lantern Special Edition. Same as above, except for Green Lantern AKA Hal Jordan

OUR TOP PICKS (GET THESE IF YOU SEE THEM!)

Fantagraphics’ Walt Disney Mickey Mouse. A dog walking a dog. Yes, that’s right. Floyd Gotfredson’s rascally Mickey.

Archaia’s Mouse Guard/ Dark Crystal flip book, with mature fantasy stories and also Season of the Dapper Men and A Tale of Sand by the legendary Jim Henson

Marvel’s Captain America/ Thor: The Mighty Fighting Avengers! A fun, time travelling adventure featuring the two cinematic superheroes in ye olde Camelot

Super Dinosaur Origin Special from Image. Another fun adventure for kids and adults with a kid, his heroic T-Rex, a secret base and evil mutant dinosaurs

Jake the Dreaming from Radical. An illustrated novel, not a comic. Like most Radical books, it looks superb. For fans of Narnia and Harry Potter

Red 5 bring us the always amusing Atomic Robo at the National Science Fair. Also previews of ’50s heroine Moon Girl, and Foster Broussard: Demons of the Gold Rush

Elric: The Balance Lost #1 from BOOM! Studios. Michael Moorcock’s pale swordsman returns to comic. I liked it much more than Mladen though

CHECK OUT PREVIEWS OF ALL THESE FREEBIES AND MORE, RIGHT HERE AND THE EXCELLENT ROMBIES IS NOW ONLINE FOR FREE FROM GESTALT COMICS. YAY!

the-mighty-thor-1    full-moon-soup3    ab001
Fantagraphics FCBD    Archaia FCBD    Marvelfcbd


Imagefcbd    Radicalfcbd    Red5FCBD    Boomfcbd


Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s